ICC reinstates associates for 2015 Cricket World Cup

Finally International Cricket Council (ICC) reinstates associates members for 2015 Cricket World Cup and make it a 14 team affair.After the conclusion of 2011 Cricket World Cup, ICC decided to restrict the upcoming Cricket World Cup to only 10 teams. Under the fire of Associate and affiliate members the ICC on Tuesday,June 28, decided to reinstate the associate nations by reverting to the 14-team format for the mega Cricketing event which is scheduled to happen in Australia and New Zealand in 2015.

When ICC declared their decision to restrict the world cup to top 10 teams only associate teams likeĀ  Ireland,Netherlands, Afghanistan and Canada strongly opposed this decision. The decision to put a cap on the teams was because of criticism of the tournament’s lengthy format.

The new decision was taken by ICC on the third day of the Annual Conference of ICC Executive Board. Four Associate teams will be played along with 10 top teams in 2015 Cricket World Cup.

Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: 12: REST API is deprecated for versions v2.1 and higher (12) thrown in /home3/suvosaha/public_html/cricketworldcup2015.org/wp-content/plugins/seo-facebook-comments/facebook/base_facebook.php on line 1273